Stitch London Blog

The Fabulous Story of Stitch London (formerly Stitch and Bitch London)



  • WANT TO JOIN US?
    CLICK HERE to sign up to our mailing list and find out when our meetings are


  • Subscribe

  • Categories

  • Stuff We Posted

  • Twitter Updates

  • Stitch London Buttons

    Member button
    member button
    Not sure how to put buttons on your blog? CLICK HERE
  • Recent Stuff

  • Photobucket
  • Recent Comments

    aprende a crear tus… on Oxfam needs your help kni…
    Swatchless» Bl… on Free pattern: Knitted Baby…
    Hazel on Free pattern: Lovely Knitted…
    eileen twinn on Free pattern: Lovely Knitted…
  • Blog rings

Measuring the Lions – Candice, a washing line and the rain

Posted by Stitch and Bitch London on March 11, 2007

On a rainy Saturday afternoon I made my way to central London to measure our fine lions.

I managed to convince my boyfriend, Chris, to help me and it was his idea that we use a washing line (thank heavens for the local pound shop) as hopefully that would be long enough,

When we arrived at Trafalgar Square the rain was still coming down in true London style, so the prospect of climbing onto the lion himself faced us with some difficulty. To save us from any crazy injuries, we thought it best to toss the rope over and catch on the other side, wrap it around then toss over again.

Triumphantly it worked first time much to the amazement of the passing tourists who thought us vandals and madmen.

As the washing line fitted just perfect, we had no need to measure Phew!

15m of washing line = 15m of lion scarf (+ 1m for a knot). So there you have it, each scarf needs to be at least an enormous woolly 16m.

I totally forgot my camera in all the excitement, so instead we took pictures on Sunday. This is me with all the rope wrapped round me, tee hee!

 

I’m really proud to be working on this project as cancer has touched my family and many of my friend’s lives.

I can’t wait to see the lions looking all cosy in there woolly creations.

Three cheers for Stitch & Bitch London and Cancer Research

Candice “Go Go Garter Girl”
xxx

Leave a Reply

 
